The Before

I haven’t blogged in a good long while. When I got back from living abroad, I posted once or twice but nothing seemed interesting enough to report to the world on a regular basis. Traveling gave me more than enough to write about but reading about me getting coffee and watching Netflix for the last two years probably wouldn’t have been as intriguing.

As of Friday though, I’m a first-time homeowner and I find myself falling down a rabbit hole of home improvement projects and diy’s that is potentially bottomless. And my blog name still makes sense so I’ll take that as a sign.

The house in question is a quaint 800 sq. feet sitting on a 7,000+ sq. foot lot in sunny Portland, Oregon. Sidenote: Yes, this is the correct usage of square “feet” vs. “foot”. I looked it up. Because I’m a nerd. As of this moment, I have a running list of give-or-take a bajillion things I want to do with it but lets start with The Before.

These photos all came from the listing:

hammock

yard

The backyard was a big selling point for us on this house. Its massive and has fruiting apple and plum trees.

bed2

The guest room. We’re keeping the gold dots on the wall for the time being.

kitchen

bath

The bathroom was a sticking point for me. Its small and windowless and, for some reason, navy blue.

living

Stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “The Before

  1. Hey, Alexis I’m planning to move to your neck of the woods as soon as Skylar graduates (next Fall). Where can I find an affordable place to live and have a dog, that isn’t your spare room?

    1. If you don’t mind the suburbs, there are plenty of affordable places. Tigard, Beaverton, or further east, past 82nd are all cheaper places to live. We’ll help you find something!

Leave a Reply

